Carroll Stadium History

Indy Eleven returns to famed IUPUI venue for its fourth campaign in 2017

Indy Eleven will call Michael A. Carroll Track & Soccer Stadium on the campus of Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) its home once again in 2017. 

"Indiana's Team" made history at the venerable facility in 2014, when it became the first pro club in American soccer history to sell every single ticket during an inaugural season. Indy Eleven led the North American Soccer League in 2014 with an average attendance of 10,485 fans - and did so again during its second season of play in 2015 with 9,809 fans per game.

The expansion of the two hospitality decks on the stadium's north side for an upgraded group and corporate hosting in addition to the reconfiguration of both the East and West Goal Stands has resulted in an official capacity of 9,563 spectators for the 2017 season. Constructed in 1982 at a cost of $7 million, Carroll Stadium seated 12,111 patrons for track and field in the past.

Indy Eleven assisted IUPUI in a multi-million dollar renovation project just prior to the 2014 season that created a more soccer-friendly environment at the venue the team's supporters affectionately call "The Mike."  As part of the updates, the club brought in roughly 2,000 seats behind each goal and constructed 12 Premium Suites along the north sideline bordering New York Street. These additions greatly improved the intimacy of the stadium, helping to boost attendance above the 10,000 mark when combined with the approximately 6,000 permanent grandstand seats deemed to have the sightlines necessary to fully enjoy 'the beautiful game' unfolding on the field. The press box can accommodate 72 working media members, including wireless internet access throughout.

In 2012, Carroll Stadium completed installation of a new FieldTurf Revolution soccer field, featuring a 110 x 75-yard field that can accommodate all levels of soccer, including the IUPUI Jaguars' men's and women's NCAA Division I programs. 

Carroll Stadium hosted both the 2006 and 2007 USA Track and Field Championships in addition to the 1988 Olympic Track and Field Team Trials, annual IHSAA Lacrosse State Championships, the Horizon League Track and Field Championships, the 2001 World Police and Fire Games, numerous NCAA and IHSAA soccer and track competitions and other marquee events.