skip navigation


By, 11/15/19, 11:00AM EST


Six of Seven Returnees Among Club’s Top Ten in Minutes, Appearances and Starts during Historic 2019 Campaign

One day after announcing the return of Head Coach Martin Rennie for the 2020 season, Indy Eleven today confirmed that a veteran core of seven players – goalkeeper Evan Newton; defenders Paddy Barrett, Neveal Hackshaw, and Karl Ouimette; midfielders Tyler Gibson and Kenney Walker; and forward Ilija Ilic – will return to usher in the new decade with Indiana’s Team.

The group includes six of the club’s top ten performers in minutes played during Indy Eleven’s record-breaking campaign in 2019, collectively averaging 2,438 minutes played, 27 starts and 29 appearances across Indy’s 37 matches across the USL Championship regular season and playoffs.

“Bringing back a core with the collective talent, experience and personality that this group possesses is evidence of the continuity we’re looking to establish at Indy Eleven,” said Head Coach Martin Rennie. “The class of these seven players was evident throughout our best season ever in 2019, and that should have our fans really excited looking ahead to 2020.”


DF Paddy Barrett: Wore the captain’s armband for most of his 31 appearances (all starts) along the backline, tallying 2,749 minutes, one goal and three assists while contributing to the second stingiest defense in the 36-team USL Championship.

MF Tyler Gibson: Started all 37 regular and postseason games for Indy Eleven, playing a team-high 3,354 minutes and missing only six minutes all season. The 28-year-old registered one goal and two assists, including the game-winning helper in a 1-0 win at Nashville SC in the USL Championship Playoffs Eastern Conference Semifinal.

DF Neveal Hackshaw: The Tobago & Trinidad international started 30 of his 31 appearances, scored twice and added one assist from his left back position during a standout campaign that led to him being named to the USL Championship All-League First Team and one of three candidates for the league’s Defender of the Year Award.

FW Ilija Ilic: After missing the first half of the season due to injury, Ilic started 12 of his 18 appearances and notched a pair of goals and assists after making the switch from Louisville City FC for 2019.

GK Evan Newton: The 2018 USL Championship Golden Glove recipient put in an exemplary first season with Indy Eleven, posting a 0.94 goals against average (25 goals allowed in 27 games) and finishing tied for eighth in the league with nine shutouts.

DF Karl Ouimette: The Canadian was a stalwart at right back, playing 2,704 minutes during his 30 appearances (29 starts) and finishing tied for third on the team with three goals – none more important than the game-winner against New York Red Bulls II in the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals at Carroll Stadium on Oct. 26.

MF Kenney Walker: The versatile midfielder joined Ayoze and Dane Kelly as the team’s co-leaders in assists with five on the season. Walker also tallied one highlight reel goal during his 31 appearances (24 starts) in 2019.

Just like these seven Boys in Blue, Indy Eleven fans can guarantee their return for every game at Lucas Oil Stadium next year as well by securing a 2020 Season Ticket Membership, available now at or by calling 317-685-1100.

Latest News